Things have been crazy lately.  I been working a LOT harder than I ever had in my life.  I think that’s because before, I really didn’t care about my jobs.  I’m a Gen-X’er who was disillusioned a LONG time ago.  I tried really hard, but had not been able to make much headway.  Jobs were either very easy, boring, or tedious.  The very easy ones ended up being dull.  The boring ones were just boring, and the tedious, well, let’s not even go there.

Part of the problem was that I’m not one who applies himself without some sort of internal ’cause’.  Most of my jobs previous had removed that ’cause’.  My previous job was what I would consider ‘HELL’.  All I could do was figure out a way to get out of there, and NEVER return.  This helped put my next (current, and hopefully very long term) job in perspective.

One other thing that’s helped is that this job is interesting!  I’ve been working with the company for a little over 6 months, and it’s not slowed down.  I get to travel a little, meet people, and still program.  I get to use tools that I pick, decide on methods, methodogies, and procedures, and control the entire process.  I have a great boss.  He’s got a similar background and his values are VERY similar to mine.  We have one other programmer whom I dragged away from ‘HELL’.  He’s the only person that I respected from that company, and I think that he can do much more and be happier doing it.  We’ll have to see.  It makes for a great team.

 

Leave a Reply

