I’ve been trying to keep personal stuff off this, but today I think I’ll change that. 

Some background… A year and a half ago I had a life changing event.  I lost my job suddenly, and the option that I chose was to take a job very quickly.  Nothing good came of this.  The ‘new’ job paid less and required many hardships.  Unfortunately I had a ‘series of unfortuante events’ while working the ‘new’ job.  Let’s just say that during the time I worked the ‘new’ job, I was living off borrowed time and money. 

About seven months ago, a windfall came my way.  I was able to take a new job that is now my current job (and will be for a while).  While I am making more money and spending a LOT less, I am having to pay off bills that were racked up from the previous 10 month.  I’ve been working on these bills.  Today was supposed to be the ‘light at the end of the tunnel’, a pay-day that would finally bring me back ahead of my payments, and give me a tiny bit of breathing room.

Well, the light turned out to be the headlight of an oncoming train…

First thing was to get the oil changed in the car.  Simple, right?  All I wanted was a basic oil change (as the computer on the car was complaining about oil life).  Forget that!  The brakes needed to be rotated.  Ok, we can handle that.  Nope, they needed to be completely replaced.  Bye-bye paycheck.

Also, one of my co-worker’s had a family emergency.  I didn’t get the details, but it was serious.  I hope & pray that all goes well for her family.

There is a bright side.  I still have an excellent job, a great boss, and a wonderful cat.  I have a roof over my head, and some food on the table.  Maybe it wasn’t such a bad day after all.

One thought on “Lousy day…

Leave a Reply

