I had a meet-and-greet with a band last night that I may audition for.  I liked these guys, liked the music, and LOVED where they played, but… I don’t think I have the kind of time to devote to the band that they deserve.  I spoke to the lead singer, and he indicated that they wanted to start playing out 3 nights a week.  In fact, they have a gig on Wednesday that runs until 2 am.  This little announcement made me realize a couple of points:

  1. I do not have the ability to get home at 3 in the morning, sleep for 3 hours and the get up and go to work and even be CLOSE to effective at my job.
  2. My job requires that I travel a bit, usually on the weekends.
  3. My focus of my life would change from ‘getting established’ to ‘getting the band established’.
  4. Money that would be allocated to paying bills would now go to paying for equipment.
  5. In the end, it would not be fair to either my job or the band.

I don’t know if any of this is a ‘cop-out’ or just being practical.  I REALLY want to get back playing and practicing with a band.  I *COULD* draw an analogy to something else that usually isn’t as much fun by one’s self, but I’ll leave that to the reader’s imagination.

 

One thought on “Turning away from what you want to do…

Leave a Reply

