It’s funny what can drive policy in any organization.  Today, I was talking with a co-worker about having SQL Server installed on all of the developers local machines.  My question to him was, does SQL Server 2005 have the blinking light service checker program?  His answer was ‘No.’  I said, ‘Good, let’s switch and get everyone going…’

Now, why was that question important, and what is the REAL TOPIC of this article?

I dislike blinking lights.  I don’t know if it is some sort of psychological thing, but I cannot tolerate seeing a visible blinking light for any length of time.  SQL Server 2000 had this great little pinging application to check to see if the Database was still alive.  To show that it was pinging, it would blink a ‘light’ on the icon.  This drove me absolutely up the wall.  I either change the setting to pinging like once every 5 minutes, or I disable the app completely.  Or I don’t install the server portion of SQL Server. 

This was my ‘personal’ policy, which of course will change with 2005 .  BUT, as I sometimes can influence decisions with my development team, I had, ah, resisted supporting attempts to make SQL Server manditory on all of our boxes.  Just because of a stupid, blinking icon.

So, on to the thought of the day…  Corporate policies can have some pretty weird reasons for them being there.

Leave a Reply

