Just what I need, a new way to waste time and energy, and appear even MORE geeky than I already am.  My friend Shoaib sent me a PDA, as he didn’t need it any more.  Within 20 minutes of setting it up with my computer, I had managed to trash the OS….  Let this be a lesson, boys and girls, upgrading is not always a GOOD thing.  Fortunately, I was able to get it back up and running, and do the update… *Dave will now breathe a sigh of relief*

The jury is out as to whether this will be a dead useful device, or if it goes on the ‘novelty’ items list.  One strike against it is that I used to have a boss that LIVED on his PDA… The darned thing would beep in the middle of conversations, or he’d start writing something down and get so engrossed in the device, he’d not listen to what was being said that was worth writing down.  I do NOT want to be like that.  Fortunately PDAs have evolved quite a bit since ’98.

As far as what *I* see it useful for… Phone numbers, grocery lists, and voice recordings.  Surfing the web on one of these is insane, even if it does have a wireless connector.

Give me a couple of days, and if I haven’t destroyed the thing in fustration, I might have some cool things that can be done with it…

Leave a Reply

