Christine had great story about how she ended up driving to Naples (See comments) to see a movie because of a plane landing on I-75.  Unfortunately, she didn’t remember the movie!  While I could make a comment about the quality of movies in general, this entry is not about that…
 
One of my favorite sayings is ‘Life is what happens while you wait for your plans to develop’ (or something like that).  I find that it’s interesting that most people remember the journey much better than they remember the destination.  In fact, the journey usually teaches us far more than the end result.  Case in point… I’m starting to teach my friend Rick how to play the guitar.  Usually when you teach someone, the point is to learn something specific, ie, how to play a song, how to play a lead, etc…  Ultimately, though, what a student should learn is HOW TO GET TO THEIR GOAL FOR THEMSELVES.  Unfortunately, it took ME a long time to figure this out.  I hope that I can impart that concept better than my teachers.
 
Ok, back to the point… it just strikes me as interesting that the journey is usually much more important than the end result.  As a programmer, I have to debug programs.  I LIKE to do this.  But, I remember what is required to find/fix the bug rather than the bug itself.  In fact, the bug is NOT the important thing, understanding WHY the bug happened is FAR more important, so that next time I can write code that doesn’t exhibit the bug.
 
Last stupid saying for this post… ‘Give a man a fish, you feed him for a day; Teach a man to fish, you feed him for life’
2 thoughts on “Sometimes, it not about where you’re going….

  1. Hmm.. you have 3 posts in one day? Making up for so few the past couple of weeks? (am I allowed to joke w/ someone I don’t know?)As for my movie thing – I wouldn’t dare post this on my own site (because my ex-boyfriend who accompanied me on that excursion reads it) but we’ll just say that I bet he doesn’t remember what movie we saw either.So how come both you and your friend don’t have any photos of yourselves on your blogs? For all I know you could be that guy I nearly killed in the Starbucks parking lot the other day 🙂

  2. Sometimes, I’ve just got to be in the mood to write. The last couple of weeks have been busy, plus the stuff that I want to talk about, I can’t.Of course you’re allowed to joke with someone you don’t know! I need all the laughter I can get! As fo the movie, ‘I see’, said the blind man to his deaf companion.As for the no pictures, I don’t want to scare anybody who might be reading my blog. <grin> I’m just not very photogenic. I’ve never liked ANY picture that someone has taken of me.Maybe I’ll post one…

Leave a Reply

