And all I can think of is ‘Bah, humbug!’. 
<rant>
This year has been a very good year in general, but the holiday season seems to be very much ‘ho hum’.  All of my shopping was done early to avoid the crowds, and it was pretty boring to boot.  People tend to get caught up in the gifts themselves, not the real purpose of the holiday (no, I’m not going to go into a religious reason, there’s far too many <grin>).  The gifts should be a way to say that ‘I’m thinking of you, and I know enough about you to give something’.  Too often, gift cards and money are the norm, mainly because we DON’T know enough about the person to give a meaningful gift.  Plus, we’ve got so many people to buy for, we don’t even REMEMBER some of the people on the list, etc…
</rant>
 
Sorry, I’m not meaning to sound like a grinch, but Christmas has hit me weird this year.  We basically missed Halloween because of the hurricane, then I travelled back home to Tennessee the next weekend.  One weekend of a ‘break’, being sick, then Thanksgiving.  December has FLOWN by, so much so that I haven’t even had time to THINK about the holidays!  I think the only thing that has even a little bit of holiday spirit get through has been the Trans Siberian Orchestra’s The Lost Christmas Eve.  Great combination of traditional and hard rock, in an orchestra format.  I *WISH* I could write music like that!
 
Oh well, HAPPY HOLIDAYS!
Leave a Reply

