First off, I have to admit, I’m a beta tester. I love playing with all the new toys, and Microsoft has really kicked off a bunch of good betas.

I had previously written about having to write a utility to import Firefox favorites into Internet Explorer 7 beta 2. It took a bit of work for me to write a quick-and-dirty program to do the import. As a programmer, I was *very* happy, because I learned some new skills (even though it took a good long time to find the answers!). It did seem short sighted of Microsoft not to include an importer.

Well, they did, I just didn’t see it… DOH!

In Internet Explorer 7 Beta 2, there is a large plus sign (+) in the upper left hand corner of the main window, just below the forward and backward navigation buttons. Clicking on that icon brings up a menu (I expected this to take direct action). The menu contains an Import/Export wizard. It *also* contains a Favorites Manager, which is much easier to use than the Favorites bar on the side of the window.

Ya live and learn…

Leave a Reply

