So, I mentioned that I’ve started playing in a band.  One of the things I have to do is catch up like crazy.  We have an initial 18 songs, of which, I know about 8 or 9 reasonably well.  I’ve ‘learned’ another 8, so it’s down to two left.  But, that’s not the story here.  The story is how to figure out if I actually KNOW the song or am just following along with the band.  Fortunately, the drummer for the band had an EXCELLENT idea… and this to practice with JUST the drums.  So, we tried that on Sunday.  Whoa boy, talk about having to go back to the drawing board!  That is one VERY tough exercise.  Fortunately, there is a way to do that with GarageBand.  For all of my backing tracks that I’ve created, I just turned off all of the tracks except for the drum track.  And then try not to look at the screen when playing 🙂  (that’s cheating!)

One thought on “How to tell if you REALLY know how to play a song!

Leave a Reply

