Another one of those ‘Ah-Ha!’ moments happened this weekend. 

I have been re-evaluating my guitars and amps to get a better sound that fits in with the band.  On Saturday, I happened to find myself near a Guitar Center with some free time, so I proceeded to check out some guitars.  I have been looking at Gibson Les Pauls, the Slash model specifically.  I really love the sound.  You can’t get more rock and roll than a Les Paul playing through a Marshall amp.  The GC I went to had several Les Pauls, which I took for a test drive.  I discovered something at that point… I wasn’t comfortable playing them.  I had a hard time reaching the top frets.  I had just worked out a solo for one of our songs, and when I tried to play it, I was completely uncomfortable.  So, the dream of getting a Les Paul has been shelved.

Instead, I grabbed a couple of PRS guitars.  First up was an SC250.  Wonderful, wonderful guitar!  Had a great sound, and was MUCH more comfortable.  The salez dood even commented that I looked FAR more at ease playing the SC250.  And, it was close to half off!  (I ain’t gonna tell ya where it is at… 🙂 )  Finally, out of shear curiosity, I pulled down a PRS Paul Allender guitar.  For being an SE model, I was totally blown away!  The sound was great, the playability was top notch, and I even like the look!  Plus, the price was FAR more affordable.  No, I didn’t purchase it, but it’s on the wish list!

The one thing that really struck me at the end of the day was that all of the guitars I played sounded good, whether they were inexpensive or ridiculous.  Maybe it was because I was playing through a Line 6 solid state amp, but I’d like to think that it is all coming back to the fingers.  Knowing the songs, being confident, and twisting the knobs of what one already uses will probably be just as good, if not better than getting new gear 🙂

Leave a Reply

