I’ve written a LOT about Garageband, and how I really enjoy it.  I just upgraded to Garageband ‘09, and find it a nice upgrade, but I’ve been hitting some snags.  I have been trying to take my Garageband experience to the next level.  I work with MIDI a LOT, making backing tracks from MIDI songs.  I’m starting to get to the point where Garageband just can’t do what I need done.  The main thing is Multiple Time Signatures in One Song.  Anyone who’s ever looked at ‘The Ocean’ by Led Zeppelin in a MIDI editor knows what I’m talking about. 🙂

So, a couple of weeks ago, my friend Rick and I were over at the local Apple store.  It was relatively quiet (for an Apple Store), so I decided to play with Logic Studio and see how hard multiple time signatures were.  After a few minutes of figuring the time signatures out (it was VERY easy), one of the Apple Store employees came up to help.  I explained what I was looking for, and he went and brought over their Logic teacher!  He ended up showing me a BUNCH of stuff that I could do very easily with Logic that was taking a lot of time in Garageband.

I ended up ordering Logic Express and a PeachPit book on Logic.  Everything arrived, and I’ve been able to start playing around with it.  It is definitely a step up over Garageband, but one of the beautiful things about Garageband is it’s simplicity.  It was a good thing I ordered the book, there is a lot to learn about Logic, and the book is great.  Both programs are great tools, and I plan to continue using Garageband, as it is VERY fast to set up good sounding backing tracks.

Leave a Reply

