Fun story… I usually use my computer to record a church’s Sunday service off of a Presonus StudioLive 24.4.2.  I get each channel as a .wav file, and then can cut out the message for the pastor’s podcast, and I usually do a quick mix of the worship service for the worship team.  These load into a program called StudioOne, again from Presonus.  The integration between the board and the software is awesome, and I usually can get the message cut out, dropped into a podcast project and converted into an .mp3 in about 20-30 minutes total time.  Well, this week, I was sick, and not able do use my normal computer to do the recording.  Fortunately, it is easy to record from the pastor’s computer.  Great!  It worked…

Sorta

Somehow, the sample rates got screwed up.  The files were recorded at 44.1 kHz, but were marked as 48 kHz.  So, when I went to play the files back, I got chipmunks.  Playing a file at the wrong sample rate is like playing a 50 rpm record at 33 rpm.  Unfortunately, StudioOne wouldn’t set the timing right.  So, I tried Logic.  I was able to get the files to play at the right speed if I told the sound card to play at 44.1 and let Logic think it was playing the file at 48.  It worked, but I couldn’t get a .wav file with the correct settings.  Ugh…

Last resort time…  time to find a good audio file editor.  Lots of ‘for pay’, but I just needed a one time only thing.  So I opened up Audacity, and just tried to the the message converted.  Import the .wav file and notice that Audacity shows all the gory details about the file (bit rate, mono/stereo, format and sampling rate).  Hmmm, there is a menu to allow to you select the sample rate.  Change the 48 kHz file to 44.1 kHz inside of Audacity.  It worked!!!!  Hooray!  The file played at the correct speed!  Then, all I had to do was export the file, and tell it to go out as a .wav at 44.1.  Boom!  I had the correct file, and was able to bring it into my podcast project.  Yea!!!!

It’s always helpful to know what’s available, even if it’s just cursory.  Knowing that there are options, and what the option’s strengths and weaknesses can really save some time.  I knew that Audacity had some good audio tools, and I got VERY lucky that it worked 🙂

One thought on “Knowing more than one tool can sometimes save you…

Leave a Reply

